Baked Oatmeal {recipe}

It has been quite a busy few weeks around our home. Spring has officially arrived which means lots of cleaning and getting ready for summer on the farm. We are also enjoying lots of cute and adorable baby animals – little cows next door and our own baby chicks. (Which I am having difficulty resisting this year and keep buying more…Someone stop me.)

We are also getting ready to celebrate a big 9th birthday and our daughters annual Birthday Food Drive. All month we have been collecting donations and this year she will be going to the Northeast Iowa Food Bank.  A couple of weeks ago we had a fundraiser garage sale which was very successful, except for the fact we still have a garage full of sale items. (Anyone want it??) I am such a proud mommy, but it is a lot of work to organize a food drive every year. But I will do it again and again. (Please contact me if you would like to contribute. We greatly appreciate all donations, big and small.)

Thankfully we are done with school for the year (although the learning really never ends in our house) so that is one less thing I have to get though every day.

We are currently getting our garden ready for planting. The dirt has been tilled and we are hoping our seeds will start to grow so we can put them outside. I know I have said this before, but when it comes to starting plants from seed, I am the worst… So none of our plants are yet growing. I have only replanted them twice. One year I will master this! But until then, I am very thankful for plants at the store.

All this hard work means I have extra hungry littles and nothing gets them going like a big bowl of protein packed apple peanut butter oatmeal. My kids love Silk Protein Nut Milk’s creamy and delicious flavor. And I love that it is low in sugar and packed with protein. So it seemed like the perfect addition to our favorite baked oatmeal recipe.

IMG_6671

Baked Oatmeal
What you will need:

  • 4 cups old fashioned oats (can use gluten-free oats)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 5 cups Silk Protein Nut Milk (or milk of your choice)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup creamy all-natural peanut butter
  • 2 cups apples (peeled and diced)

What you need to do:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare a 9×13 inch baking dish and set aside.

In a large bowl mix together the oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Add milk, egg, applesauce, and vanilla. Stir in peanut butter and mix until well combined. Pour mixture into baking dish and bake for 35 minutes, or until the top is golden and the oatmeal is set. Let cool for 5 minutes and serve. Enjoy!

IMG_6677

Disclosure:
I received no compensation for this post but was provided with a sample of Silk Protein Nut Milk to facilitate this review in exchange for my honest opinion which in fact are my own.

2 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal {recipe}

  1. Yum! Apples and PB aren’t something I’ve mixed into our baked oatmeal yet, but you can guess what I’ll be doing next time I make it 🙂

    Like

    1. My girls love PB and apples. So naturally I had to put it in oatmeal. Although I have tried different flavors in our oatmeal, this is the one they ask for the most.

      Like

Leave a Reply

