Planning for your Adventures {recipe}

Weekend getaways. Day trips. Park play dates. Day camps – oh my. This is just a few of the things that keep our little family extra busy during the warmer months. You would think we would be busier during the school year, but we’re not. We really love it and cannot wait to get started. However one thing that always happens when we are out – someone forgets something. Mom forgets the diapers… kids forget the sunglasses…. Nobody grabbed their bottle of water.

I have quickly learned to realize I need another bag, in addition to my diaper bag, which contains all the extra items we may need during our little adventures. Items we may not need during our regular day to day errands and outings.

IMG_20170503_092655225

Some of the items in our little ‘adventure bag’ include –
Hats
Sunglasses – because it’s always “too bright” or so my three-year-old is always telling me.
Bug Spray – protect your littles from those pesky mosquitoes and ticks! We use a bug spray made with essential oils and have had great luck.
Sunscreen – I keep a few different varieties of sunscreen in our bag. Spray and lotion – because everyone has their favorite. I have recently fallen in love with Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Weightless Face Sunscreen. Its claim “feels as if it’s barely on” is so true, provides 12 hours moisturization, UVA & UVB protection, and is oil free. It is my new go-to sunscreen for this summer!

IMG_20170503_092544338
Snacks – my kids love crackers, fresh fruit, and our homemade granola! A recipe too good not to share… just keep reading.
Water – like I said, someone always forgets it. Thankfully I can keep a couple of bottles in the bag so we’ll always have it with us.
Extra clothes – because when my kids are not afraid to get a little messy. They love bugs and dirt.
When I am organized, I feel so much calmer when we are out, and I really get to enjoy our time together. Plus, I always keep extra of everything with me – yes, I like to be over prepared – so I can help another mom out if they need it.

IMG_20170502_192243464

Granola

½ cup coconut oil
½ cup honey
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ teaspoon salt

Mix these ingredients together until dissolved.
Then you will add…

5 cups oats
3 cups add-ins (choose your favorites – nuts, dried fruit, coconut, chocolate chunks, etc.)

Bake on a lined cookie sheet at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 1 hour. Break into chunks and store into an air tight container.

If you love chunky granola, you just may love this recipe as much as we do. I always make a double batch and it is gone in just a few days.

IMG_20170503_092536075

I’d love to hear from you! What are the much-needed items you seem to always forget? I know I am not alone here.

Disclosure:
I received no compensation for this post but was provided with a sample of Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Weightless Face Sunscreen to facilitate this review in exchange for my honest opinion which in fact are my own.

Leave a Reply

